Bike-mas

‘Twas the night before bike-mas and all through the house no-one was stirring not even… well actually I was quite excited.

I arrived in work on bike-mas very excited about the impending delivery, I can make no excuses, I am like a child when it comes to getting new bike stuff and getting a bumper delivery is almost too much for me to handle.  I spent the day looking out the window waiting, hoping, longing for a courier to turn up.  I had hoped it would arrive before I left for home, but unfortunately I headed home empty handed.
20150304_160523I get into work the next day to find a bumper parcel from the good people at Endura hidden under my desk.  Result, it was here. Before I could stop myself I had torn my way into the box to take a look at the kit I’d be wearing for #bontride.  This is the first time I’ve ever had so much brand new kit in one go, and I won’t lie I felt like a pro, just fatter, slower and with less new kit.  Somehow I managed to keep the kit all bagged and boxed ready for its first test ride rather than sullying it riding to work.

The test ride was a 50km ride across the beautifully corrugated patchwork landscape that is the South Hams, from Plymouth to a friend’s farm near Dartmouth.  There is always a niggle of doubt, for me anyway, the first time you ride in new kit. It’s the point of no return, literally. That seam that you didn’t even notice trying them on in the shop after an hour of riding is like a burning volcanic archipelago.

http://www.strava.com/activities/265379328/embed/e55701d86c0e8f6920c824b610da1303ba7a335e

I had no need to fret on this occasion, all the new kit performed impeccably.  I have made a conscious decision to try and use kit which is as versatile as possible for this, with the ride taking place at the end of March the weather could either be like a balmy spring afternoon or a highland blizzard.  For this reason I have gone for a jersey with windproof front panels, which worked remarkably well, paired with arm warmers and bibshorts and leg warmers.  This way, I’m hoping I can alter what I am wearing to suit the majority or the weather I am likely to face. I also plan to take a packable jacket and gilet to increase options and also added insulation of both layers should I need it.

Having gone this far, it seems like an ideal time to do a #bontride kit list:

Bike Setup:

Peugeot Pro-team steel frame
Pro-lite Garda wheels20150310_191438
Continental Gatorhardshell tyres (23mm)
SKS P50 full lengthmudguards
Garmin Edge 800 (with OSM) for navigation
Lezyne saddle bag for spares (Spares: tubes x2, glueless repair kit, Lezyne Rap13 multi tool, tyre levers, spare chain links, cleat bolt and plate, and gear & brake cables)
Topeak ‘bento box’
Veho Pebble USB portable charger
Tacx saddle mounted bottle mount and cages (3x 750ml bottles in total)
Electron Terra2 front lights
Lezyne Femto rear light
Exposure Spark (spare front light)
Topeak Racerocket HPX pump
100 decibel alarmed cable lock

Kit:
Endura FS260-Pro Jetstream Jersey20150310_181756
Endura FS260-Pro Bibshorts II
Endura FS260-Pro Adreneline Race Gilet
Castelli Sottile Duo Jacket
Endura Windchill Arm Warmers
Endura Windchill Leg Warmers
Endura Dexter Gloves
Endura BaaBaa Merino Socks
Specialized Comp Road Shoes
Castelli Diluvio Shoecovers
MET Estro helmet
Look Mum No Hands Race Cap
BBB Skull Cap
Merino Buff

JustGiving - Sponsor me now!

Leave a Reply

